Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/7/2003 10:57:50 AM EDT
I'm a newbie to rifles with wood furniture...  So can anybody tell me what is the best way to clean and maintain the walnut stock on an M1A? I don't want the smooth, wax-type finish that I've seen on some NM rifles, but I want to preserve the wood as best as I can.  I've heard that Boiled Linseed Oil (BLO) is good to use, but I can't seem to find the right stuff at my local gun shop. If BLO is the way to go, where should I buy this stuff and what's the best method for applying it to the stock?  

Thanks.
Link Posted: 5/7/2003 12:59:05 PM EDT
[#1]
CHL,
You can find BLO at any Home Depot/Lowe's or other hardware stores.  Just wipe it on with your fingers or a piece of cloth and rub in until absorbed then wipe off remainder or it will be sticky. Let dry over night. I've refinished several rifle stocks this way and it gives the wood a slightly darker, warm, rich appearance like wood should have. Repeat until the grain is filled to your liking.  I usually hit the wood with 0000 steelwool prior to first coat.  If the gun is not used much, wipe the stock down once a year with a slightly oiled rag to refresh.
Link Posted: 5/7/2003 2:14:11 PM EDT
[#2]
Raskil is exactly right in his use of BLO.

Recently I found another little trick that looks good too.  Get some Homer Formby's Lemon Oil treatment and rub the stock down with it & a rag a couple of times before hitting it with the BLO.  It is a great cleaner, it nourishes the wood some, and it brings out some of the highlights of the wood.  In fact, you can mix the BLO & Lemon oil together and rub it good to get similiar results, but if the stock had been handled alot & is dirty - use the lemon oil first for a good cleaning.
BTW.............you can also add some stock wax into the BLO/Lemon Oil mix too - it doesn't add any shine to the wood, it just protects & highlights it better.