Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/29/2010 8:24:01 AM EDT
I had been kicking around buying a bigger safe for a couple of years and finally bought one two weeks ago and moved it down stairs the following weekend.  I went with a Heritage FSR 4372 labeled with the logo of the retail outlet where purchased.  It was the largest size that would fit through the 36" doors and at the bottom of the stair well.  The safe (I know, really a RSC) measured 72"x43"x28".

Why move it myself?  I am not really keen on inviting unknown folks from the major metro areas into my home so I wanted to be able to move the safe with some help of family and friends.  I called around the area (before the safe purchase) for one of those stair climbing dollies mentioned here but no luck.  One rental place had one but it was limited at 650lbs, no go for me.

I was planning on taking pic's during the process but with everyone helping tight on time, MS paint and a few AA pic's will have to do.

Fin Feather and Fur offers free delivery within 75 miles but I am about 130 miles, besides, they have a pretty cool store so I chose to pick it up.  Loading it in the back of the truck was no big deal, I removed the tailgate and they slid it right in.  Once home I used my small front end loader with forks to unload from the truck and set in garage.