Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/19/2008 11:24:53 PM EDT
Now that I've had my STG for a couple of weeks, a few questions have arrisen...

1.  On the bolt release  button, at the bottom it seems like it should be able to be used as a bolt hold open ala the AR15, but I cant seem to get the bolt to catch while pushing it in... if it is not a hold open, what is that for?

2.  Though I am a police firearms instructor, I can not figure out what would be the best way to execute a tactical reload, or hell a speed reload for that matter... anyone have any suggestions?
Link Posted: 11/20/2008 3:22:23 AM EDT
[#1]
The bolt hold open is HK style with the charging handle. There is a groove at the rear of the movement, and you can give it the ol HK slap to release as well. I have not figured out how to make the bolt releae a hold open, I don't think it is designed with that in mind

I have been practicing for high seed tac reloads and I have not yet mastered the best way...

So far muscle memory has provided me with fast reloads by:
removing mag from pouch, placing between middle finger and ring finger, mag facing feed lips forward (toward muzzle),
using edge of thumb disengage mag release (with same hand)
use web of thumb to wrap mag and withdraw,
move hand over slightly insert mag, slap charging handle
place mag in dump pouch, iside shirt, cargo pocket or whereever you choose...

practice till fluid

I am open to suggestions as well as pointers as I am well schooled on AR's and M14's the Aug style weapons are a month new to me....
Link Posted: 11/20/2008 3:29:27 AM EDT
[#2]