Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/14/2009 6:05:12 PM EDT
My eldest son, who works for the major state police group in my state (and before anyone asks, HE DOESN'T PISS OF EMT'S), was in need of some decent duty ammo. Hard to believe, but his organization doesn't issue any duty ammo that worthy of being carried by my son (they don't distinguish between duty ammo and training ammo, but that's a topic for another thread)

After doing my homework, I went to find him some Federal LE ammo using the Barnes TSX bullet. I called Federal and they turned me onto some guys in Texas. They had some of the ammo for $35.00/20 As you can imagine, I said piss on that and figured I would make him some duty ammo.

I've been loading for over 25 years and I can make better ammo than any factory. So I gathered my favorite 5.56 powders, found some of the Barnes 55gr. TSX bullets and got to work. I loaded the ammo in some virgin Remington Nickel cases, using the excellent Federal 205M primers and headed to the range with my ammo in hand.

After testing several powders, H335 became the leader in both velocity and accuracy. My chronograph showed that 25.6 grains of H335 gave 3,050 fps in velocity and accuracy like this:

Shot with his issue Colt 6721 off his elbows at 50 yds.

Anyway, here are some pics I took showing some of the components and the finished products.

And all you guys that are going to panic that he's carrying handloads for duty ammo, I load better ammo and have much better quality control than any mass-produced ammo. I obviously have complete confidence in my ammo or my own son wouldn't be carrying it.

Thoughts?

Link Posted: 6/14/2009 6:19:17 PM EDT
[#1]