Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/17/2002 12:00:27 PM EDT
I'm new to firearms and trying to decide what to go with as a general purpose, home/self protection, and SHTF pistol. Comparing all the options out there is a little overwhelming as I'm sure you all know. H&K, Sig, Glock, Colt... etc.

Some things that I like about the 1911 include the SA trigger and overall simple/proven design.

At the same time it seems that the 9mm round is a great general purpose round. Many military use them so excellent availability, cheap to shoot, etc.

So why don't more people combine the two?

I know there are some 1911 9mm's out there. Are there reliability issues? Cycling issues? Capacity?  Or is there just a better option (Sig, Baretta, etc) that makes this combination pointless.

Thanks for your thoughts!
Link Posted: 1/17/2002 1:14:36 PM EDT
[#1]
i think its pretty much pointless. as far as im concerned, one of the main benifits of a 9 is hi cap, but i dont belive 9mm 1911s have this. i think a beretta is better than a 9mm 1911 anyday, and about the same price.
Link Posted: 1/17/2002 1:50:40 PM EDT
[#2]
A 9mm 1911 is very sensible, and you'll probably shoot it better than most other 9's out there, Beretta included.  Still, if I were getting a 9mm it would be a SIG or Glock, but that's only because I already have a Colt in .45 ACP.  You don't need a big capacity with a .45!

So if you're set on 9mm, don't discount the 1911, but also look at a few others in the same size range.  If you want a 1911 more than you want a 9mm, then get a .45 - it just makes more sense in the long run.
Link Posted: 1/17/2002 1:59:12 PM EDT
[#3]
If you are a 1911 fan........it makes all the sense in the world......for the obvious reasons......but you might want to eventually have a 45 also.......if you are not a 1911 fan.......forget it....personally....it would be great to have....just get a good one if you do it...