Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/30/2001 7:55:35 AM EDT
A newbie here ( waiting for my AR--only 30 more days to go! )  with one more question....I am going to get an AR for the purpose of varmint hunting, and want to spend a lot of quality time at the range with my new rifle to learn to shoot it well, and to be able to hit the target some distance downrange. When spending this quality time with my AR and with my SA battle pack, and several boxes of various brands of ammo to see which one my rifle likes,
1.   How long should it take me to go through, say,  20 rounds on average, if I am not just blasting away, and am trying to get consistent groups? How long should I let the HBAR cool down between shots?  
2.   The main purpose for my rifle is for varmints, but I still love to shoot and improve my skills at the range, so I am also wandering if I should get a bull barrel after all? I posted a question on bull barrels before, but got to thinking that if I am spending a chunk of time at the range connsistently, maybe it is the way to go?  If I could get away with not getting the bull barrel, I would do so. Oh, the barrel will be stainless steel and non-chrome lined.
3.   Will occasionally blasting through a 20 or 30 round mag be damaging to my barrel or its accuracy in the future?
Thanks for all of the advice given already. I have 30 more long days before receiving my AR, but am learning things daily from this forum!  --Tim
Link Posted: 12/30/2001 9:17:31 AM EDT
[#1]
Train like you will shoot.
How long would it take you to go through 20 rounds while varmint hunting? Will all your hunting shots be 20 minutes apart,from a cold barrel? Will the barrel be clean or will it be dirty?

I'm staying out of the barrel profile/weight debate.
Link Posted: 12/30/2001 11:16:49 AM EDT
[#2]