Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/16/2006 10:31:54 AM EDT
Not sure if this is the right forum for this topic, but AR15.com always seems to come through.

I'm in the market for a quality pellet gun for getting rid of squirrels and other critters around the yard. Specifically, I'm looking for a break barrel gun in .22 cal. It should be a relatively quiet gun so as not to frighten the neighbors (residential area) and around $200 is my spending limit (it's just a pellet gun here). After some research I think the Beeman GS950 or the RWS Diana 34 are good candidates, but I have no experience with either. If anyone owns either one, or something else they could recommend please post a response. These squirrels must die.
Link Posted: 12/16/2006 10:35:01 AM EDT
[#1]

KILL the tree rats !!!

I don't own either one but a couple of guys I know do have Diana's and they love the hell out of 'em.  I know that's not a very subjective post, but take it for what it's worth.
Link Posted: 12/16/2006 10:50:33 AM EDT
[#2]
How about a 10/22 with some subsonic rounds?  That is in your price range.

Max
Link Posted: 12/16/2006 11:04:24 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
How about a 10/22 with some subsonic rounds?  That is in your price range.

Max

Even with subsonic, would still be louder than a pellet gun.  He'd need to get a 10/22 with a can, and that would be out of his price range.  

With pellet guns, caliber is less important than some may think.  I've killed plenty of squirrels and pigeons with my .177.  It will do the job as long as your shot placement is good.  

.177 has more penetration than .22, while .22 typically makes a larger permanent cavity.  Either will do the job - but the pellet still has to be placed accurately.