Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/26/2002 9:59:55 PM EDT
I've been carrying my P7M8 for the last two years now, and for the last 6 months have been taking a lot of $h!t from my partner about why I'm not carrying a .45   I like the compactness of the P7, plus it is SSSOOOO accurate.  For the same size, but in .45, do you guys think the Sig 245 is a good trade-off?
Please don't suggest other guns because these two are my only options considering what I have to choose considering department choices, budget, and calibre approvals.
Any input would be appreciated...
ptp
Link Posted: 12/26/2002 10:21:19 PM EDT
[#1]
What do you carry on duty?  The P7 is such a unique design, with a manual of arms very different from any other pistol.  A lot of people think that if you carry a P7, it should be your ONLY carry gun.

As for the choice between the two, the P7M8 and the SIG P245, I'd prefer the HK.  I dont care for guns that leave fingers dangling, and the P245 does with me.  That said, I LOVE my P220.  But if you are used to the P7M8, and like the way it shoots, why switch?  Hits not caliber are what matters.
Link Posted: 12/26/2002 10:22:14 PM EDT
[#2]

I love my P7M8. I carry it whenever I am not in uniform. I have plenty of .45's, 40's etc but I always am carrying my P7.

Stay with what you know and are comfortable with. Let your partner sort out his own issues.
Link Posted: 12/27/2002 5:13:49 PM EDT
[#3]
Your P7M8 will shoot rings around the Sig P-245. A hit with a 9mm beats a miss by a .45acp any day of the week.

Tell your partner he has size "issues".  >gg<
Link Posted: 12/29/2002 7:11:33 AM EDT
[#4]
Any other responses out there?  Very curious about opinions from other off-duty or ccw carriers.  P7M8 in 9mm or Sig 245 in .45  No other choices per approval unless I want a 5-shot 2" Smith revolver.....  uh no thank you

ptp
Link Posted: 12/29/2002 10:20:24 AM EDT
[#5]