Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/12/2002 11:00:08 AM EDT
I am just starting out in precision shooting so please bare with me.  I recently purchased a Rem. 700VS.  I am just finished breaking the barrel in with some 150gr. S. African surplus.  I am getting 1.75in - 2in. groups at 200yds with it.  I would like to know what you guys use for just practice and range time, and what you use for those precision sessions.  I don't reload yet so reloading is out of the question.  
Link Posted: 7/12/2002 11:07:37 AM EDT
[#1]
If you are not going to reload just give Federal 168gr match ammo a try.  It has the 168gr Sierra bullet that is well know for accuracy.  For really long range stuff the heavier 175gr Sierra match bullet has a following.  Your 700 should do about as well as it ever will with the Federal 168.  Watch-Six
Link Posted: 7/12/2002 11:41:06 AM EDT
[#2]
Hornady TAP AMAX 168 grn, getting ½ groups @ 100 yards.
Link Posted: 7/12/2002 2:14:21 PM EDT
[#3]
those 168gr Federal match.
Link Posted: 7/12/2002 2:30:02 PM EDT
[#4]
Federal Gold Medal Match 175 gr GM308M2.  Good for 1000+ yards.
Link Posted: 7/12/2002 3:53:33 PM EDT
[#5]
I tested my .308 bolt action using both Federal Match and Black Hills Match in 168gr. The Federal was more expensive but for some reason it did not shoot as well in my rifle as the Black Hills. I guess my rifle just likes Black Hills better. Manufacturers of the same caliber rounds all have subtle differences in cartridge dimensions. Even the slugs themselves can vary in width by a few thousandths and still be well within spec. I know that Hornady slugs are usually a bit on the thick side and Nosler usually a bit narrower. I would say experiment with some quality brand names and see which one suits your rifle the best.
Link Posted: 7/12/2002 4:56:18 PM EDT
[#6]
I reload using 175 Sierra MK's and Varget powder.  Very accurate out to 1000yd.