Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/20/2002 12:07:07 PM EDT
Ok,I have been getting failures to eject since I got my new bushmaster.The last thing I tried was leaving the bolt locked back for a day and then shooting,as you suggested.(too much spring tension in a new gun)I went to the range put 2rds in my USGI mag after being told the factory mags were junk.Jamed on the first round(failed to eject).I cleared the jam and fired the last round.The bolt locked back on the empty mag,I looked down and the spent case was just sitting on top of the mag.Two failures in a row.I went back to the fractory mag put 70 rds through it with no problems.Then put 10 rds in the USGI mag and it ran fine.Can a bad mag even cause falures to eject? I'v had jams with both and three different kinds of ammo.I have my leupold red dot sight set now and the JP trigger is working great with the factory springs.Three shot groups were around 1/2in.at 50yds.I'm starting to like this gun but this ejection thing is driving me crazy!I hate to send it back but I'm running out of things to try.Any more suggestions? Thanks for all the help!
Link Posted: 5/20/2002 12:11:54 PM EDT
[#1]
Hmmmm..... This post looks familair.
Link Posted: 5/20/2002 12:20:07 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
Ok,I have been getting failures to eject since I got my new bushmaster.The last thing I tried was leaving the bolt locked back for a day and then shooting,as you suggested.(too much spring tension in a new gun)

No such thing as 'Too Much Spring Tension' unless the spring is FAR out of spec.  Keeing it compressed for a day wouldn't change it a bit.  

I went to the range put 2rds in my USGI mag after being told the factory mags were junk...Any more suggestions? Thanks for all the help!

1) in a Bushmaster 10 round magazines never use more than 9 rounds - then they usually work well.