Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/26/2002 6:38:29 AM EDT
Being sort of new to the AR-15 world, I was wondering what all of you might think about how accurate I am shooting offhand.  Basically I tack up a 8x10 paper at 100 yards.  Offhand rapid shooting (about one round every one or two seconds)I am able to place an average of 26 hits out of 30 on target in roughly a 10" group.  Kneeling, I more often than not score 30 out of 30.

Is this terrible?  I read so many posts about sub-MOA groups that I am beginning to wonder.  I do realize that my groups would shrink dramatically if I went to the bench, but I like to stand and shoot.  How good should an average shooter be offhand at 100 yards?

By the way, my equipment is a Rock River CARA3, 16", flattop,with Eotech Holosight.  I shoot Wolf and South African mil. spec.

Thanks
Link Posted: 4/26/2002 6:48:24 AM EDT
[#1]
im no expert, but i think it's good shooting, standing offhand.
Link Posted: 4/26/2002 6:58:46 AM EDT
[#2]
For casual shooting, I'd say that was pretty good.  A master or high-master can do 2-3" groups offhand in slow fire.  On a GOOD day, I'm more like 5" groups @ 100 in slow fire.  You'll never get MOA in offhand shooting, but you can in prone.

I recommend you find the closes high-power NRA/service rifle match in your area.  That's a fun way to meet folks.  At our club, we have 12-20 shooters per month and 80% shoot AR's.  We have a few excellent shooters and a winning score will be 770+ out of 800.  That is the best way to measure your ability.

Course of fire (iron sights only):
(1) Offhand: 20 rounds 20 minutes
(2) Rapid sitting: 10 rounds 60 seconds (start from standing; 10 rnds incl mag change;done twice for total of 20 rounds)
(3) Rapid prone: Like rapid sitting but you get 70 seconds
(4) Prone: 20 rounds 20 minutes
Link Posted: 4/26/2002 2:07:36 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 4/26/2002 7:50:43 PM EDT
[#4]