Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/16/2018 5:19:45 PM EDT
I am considering getting a Trijicon MK III Thermal rifle scope, either 4.5 X 60MM (IRMK3-60) or the 2.5X35MM (IRMK3-35).  I will mostly use it as a dedicated rifle scope. I would how ever like the versatility of occasionally using it as a clip on, as I have a wide variety of quality day scopes mounted and zeroed.  Looking at hunting coyotes and hogs, given the terrain I will be in 200 yards will be a long shot with 100 yard or less shots more likely.   How do the MKIIIs do as clip ons? Which one would be better? Is there a conundrum with getting it to position correctly in front of your day scope?  Im new to thermal scopes and appreciate your input.
Link Posted: 5/16/2018 5:40:58 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 5/16/2018 5:55:25 PM EDT
[#2]
Those are both great scopes but will be miserable as clip ons.  I would consider making one of the current rifles a dedicated rifle, or at the least put QD mounts on the day scope of one and swap between it and the thermal.  If you need a clip on, then get one designed for that.  Otherwise use as a scope and b happy with one of the best units in the market today.
Link Posted: 5/16/2018 8:16:33 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Neither they are scopes that are marketed as clip ons, but should not be.
View Quote
Fixed it. I think there are quite a few people who have purchased these believing the marketing material stating they would work as a clip-on.
Link Posted: 5/16/2018 9:57:29 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

Fixed it. I think there are quite a few people who have purchased these believing the marketing material stating they would work as a clip-on.
View Quote
This^^^^^^
I have been very displeased that the TWO IR Patrols I bought believing their marketing are miserable/unusable as clip ons.
Link Posted: 5/16/2018 10:13:55 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:

This^^^^^^