Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/26/2009 5:48:26 AM EDT
I am active duty military.  Although I'm an Oregon resident, I am currently stationed in Alabama.  Can I set up a trust while stationed in Alabama that will still be vaild when I move back to Oregon?

Also, if I set up the trust here what are the legalities involved with having my father included in the trust so that I can store NFA goodies at his house in Oregon if I get stationed overseas or in a state that is non-NFA friendly?  Ideally I'd like to set it up so that he'd still be able to use them instead of just having them locked in a safe that only I have a key to.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 3/26/2009 1:27:55 PM EDT
[#1]
I don't have the exact answer, but honestly the only person who does is probably some gun lawyer who charges by the hour.

I'm USAF active duty. I'm making a trust.

Problem with having a trust that covers people in "another" state, is that you can't just take it there simply because it's on the Form 1. You still need to notify the ATF with the 5352.2 or whatever the form number is (I made that number up).

So, adding your dad to the trust woudl work, but you would still need to notify the ATF when you take it there to store.

The other side of this, is that you could take it to your dad's ANYWAY without him being on the trust. You would just need to secure it in a manner where he has no "access" to the item and cause a illegal "transfer". Throw it in a locked box, and put it in his attic - your done....as far as I understand it. Don't forget to notify the ATF first.

So the only real reason to have your Dad on the trust is if you want HIM to be able to USE the NFA stuff you store at his place while your gone.
Link Posted: 3/26/2009 2:01:10 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
So the only real reason to have your Dad on the trust is if you want HIM to be able to USE the NFA stuff you store at his place while your gone.