Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/15/2006 8:11:27 PM EDT
I am new to the C & R world and don't know my A$$ from a hole in the ground when it comes to working with wood stocks. Having said that, could some of you seasoned experts share some tips for refurbishing wood stocks.

The stocks on my 3 C & R rifles are in overall good condition but need to have the cosmoline and dirt/grease removed. I'm not real sure how to attack this. My Savage Enfield was really loaded with cosmoline.
Link Posted: 1/15/2006 9:32:00 PM EDT
[#1]
Heat is what gets the deep cosmo out of the stock.  Kind of hard to find in January in most of the country.

You will NEVER get it all.

There's considerable disagreement on this subject.  I would not get old wood in contact with water.  Be patient that stock didn't get that way over night.<G>

Dennis Jenkins

Quoted:
I am new to the C & R world and don't know my A$$ from a hole in the ground when it comes to working with wood stocks. Having said that, could some of you seasoned experts share some tips for refurbishing wood stocks.

The stocks on my 3 C & R rifles are in overall good condition but need to have the cosmoline and dirt/grease removed. I'm not real sure how to attack this. My Savage Enfield was really loaded with cosmoline.

Link Posted: 1/15/2006 9:47:52 PM EDT
[#2]
My favorite method is a scouring with 0000 steel wool and mineral spirits to get the big stuff off, then warm it in the oven on a bed of newspapers wiping the excess that oozes out occasionally.  Once it pretty much stops oozing I wipe it all down again, let it cool, then scour it again with mineral spirits.  I then spray a light coat of Zinnser Shellac on top to keep whatever cosmo may still be inside, sand it down with 200 grit silicone carbide paper, then finish with the oil of your choice.