Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/6/2010 6:31:12 AM EDT
I just aquired. a 38 year old 1100 Magnum and thought I would take the bolt and action bars out to see how dirty it was. I have never done that to my other 1100 before either. I was impressed by how rugged everything is inside and how simple and efficient it all is.  Very few parts in an 1100. Much simpler than an AR-15.

Why all the hate for 1100's?  I suspect most of the haters, have never taken one apart.
Link Posted: 9/6/2010 7:47:59 AM EDT
[#1]
They like to be clean and lightly lubed - they typically will not run 100% when dirty and dry. Also, there are a few fragile parts that can break and cause mayhem - the forend support springs readily to mind. This said, I love my 11-87s and have been running the same one in 3-gun competitions for 15 years... no Spaghetti Guns for me .
Link Posted: 9/6/2010 9:34:53 AM EDT
[#2]
Yeah...it's almost like they asked the design team to take an 870 and make it a gas operated auto.  Just watch those edges in the receiver.  I was shocked at how sharp they were.  Went through a cleaning rag like a razor.  The trigger group is a bit complex, though.

It's pretty cool to see a 1963 design still going strong when everyone else is coming out with something new or improved every few years.
Link Posted: 9/6/2010 11:09:56 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
Yeah...it's almost like they asked the design team to take an 870 and make it a gas operated auto.  Just watch those edges in the receiver.  I was shocked at how sharp they were.  Went through a cleaning rag like a razor

Now THAT is the truth!  I was cleaning up an old 1100 for my sister and cut the HELL out of the end of my finger on the inside of the receiver.  Now I know...

Link Posted: 9/6/2010 5:30:00 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Quoted: