Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/16/2004 12:01:50 PM EDT
Hello, I just got home from purchasing a Mossberg 500 for home defense (and possibly a little hunting) purposes.  It is bone stock and just has the bead sight at the end of the barrel.

My question is what sort of upgrades do you experts suggest and what sort of prices am I looking at for them.  Thanks!
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 12:28:39 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm no expert but here's my thoughts:
Extended mag tube - $40
Side Saddle             -   30
Slling                        -   20

That's all I have on my 870.
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 1:14:09 PM EDT
[#2]
For home defense? Ammo, pure and simple. You can do a fine job of protecting home and hearth with the standard, bone stock gun...but not without ammo. I prefer #000 Buck but you may have other ideas. The vast majority of mods done to "tactical" shotguns may be nice, especially for an extended fight, but that is a very unlikely scenario for home defense...there, one, maybe two or three, rounds, and you are almost always done.
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 7:00:38 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
You can do a fine job of protecting home and hearth with the standard, bone stock gun...... The vast majority of mods done to "tactical" shotguns may be nice, especially for an extended fight, but that is a very unlikely scenario for home defense..

I couldn't agree more ....and I'd love to hear who on this board has been in an 'extended fight' recently, and if so did having all that 'tactical' stuff help?......ECS
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 8:08:14 PM EDT
[#4]