Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/22/2003 5:56:57 PM EDT
I'll admit, I'm new to shotguns, but not shooting. I've shot competitive action pistol on and off for almost 20 years. In my handgun experience, novice shooters will encourage and welcome, but not appearently on the trap field.

We waited our turn, didn't comment on the missed clays, and stay out of the previous groups way. When they were done, a couple of their squad wanted to shoot another round with friend and me. No problem. I pull out my shotgun, and their squad leader makes some smart ass comment about me shooting my Remy 1100CM. "What are you going to do with that thing?" Granted, it's not exactly a trap gun, but I can still hit pretty well. He acted like he wasn't going to shoot with us because of my shotgun. What an ass! Is this normal out there?
Do I need to switch to skeet?

BTW- shot a 20/25, and a 24/25. I'm really pissed I missed that one.
Link Posted: 6/22/2003 7:04:31 PM EDT
[#1]
Just switch the people you are shooting with - clay shooters, and I mean skeet, trap and sporting clays, seem to attract a special order of asshole.  

On the other hand, I've been shooting with a great bunch in our Wednesday night Sporting Clays league - they will coach you if you're having trouble, but you have to take a bunch of needling, too.  These guys aren't likely to comment on your gun, because they shoot the most motley assortment you ever saw - in fact, a couple bring something unusual about every week.  One man shoots a Model 12 every week.

Don't let the bastards wear you down; it's supposed to be fun, first and foremost, and the knuckleheads are probably delusional about their shooting ability to boot.
Link Posted: 6/22/2003 7:17:20 PM EDT
[#2]