Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Handguns » FN
Posted: 3/5/2009 8:43:35 PM EDT
IIRC .223 is actually 5.7 diameter so could you use .223 bullets to reload 5.7x28?
Link Posted: 3/5/2009 11:19:20 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 3/9/2009 2:46:15 PM EDT
[#2]
.223 projectiles are too heavy for the 5.7 handgun.  You risk a very dangerous over pressure situation.

By all accounts the 5.7 is about the most difficult cartridge to reload properly and safely, because of it's unique pressure profile.

It's not like loading a .45 ACP at all.

From what I've seen here, and at the FN Forum, every kaboom of the 5.7 pistol is directly traceable to hand loaded ammo.

Hand loading also voids the warranty.

Do what you want, but with this handgun the safest bet by far is sticking with factory loaded ammunition.
Link Posted: 5/16/2009 8:39:22 PM EDT
[#3]
I am a reloading instructor with 35+ years experience.

The 5.7x28mm is a semi-auto version of the 22 Hornet - and use the same diameter bullets as the 223, 5.56mm, 22-250 etc etc etc etc etc - it is a .224" bullet.  You just cannot use the same bulelts from these other calibers in a 5.7 'cause the 5.7 likes 27gr to 40gr bulelts - 55gr for subsonic.

I have a ton of experience loading 223 for NRA Highpower Rifle competition to 600 yards - and I can tell you the 5.7x28mm is a very very difficult round to reload.  The factory outside coating interfers with full length sizing.  The case is too short to accomplish FL sizing, de-priming, and neck sizing all at once like normal  reloading easily - your better off performing these steps individually, or, wreck 20+ cases getting the die dead on perfect.

The full sized brass always needs trimming.  The primer pockets are military crimped and need to have it removed with a swagger.