Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/4/2012 10:39:34 PM EDT
I took my new 22/45 threaded barrel gun out today.  I did all my shooting at 7 yards; I used Fed Bulk Pack and some older Winchester Xpert

In addition to the POI being off by about 2" both up and left, I couldn't hold a group tighter than about 2.5" SUPPORTED, with either ammo.

Unsupported, it was like patterning a shotgun, about 5" or greater groups, again with either brand of ammo.

I took out my Glock afterwards and proceeded to punch out the x-ring with boring ease.
Now, I'm no newbie to shooting.  I am used to shooting .45s and everything on down to .22, but this IS my first Ruger .22.

Before I took it out, I removed the mag disconnect and polished up the internals with a little flitz.  The crown looks good to go and being new the gun is obviously in good shape.

Has anyone encountered similar issues with this gun, or am I just sucking in spite of it all?

Link Posted: 8/5/2012 4:03:03 AM EDT
[#1]
in my experience - 22 ammo is very inconsistant (to say the least) in accuracy and performance, so I wouldnt fault the pistol just yet..

I would try some CCI stuff - mini mag, stinger and report back...

OR if you want to see the best performance buy some really high end .22 stuff to see the best performance

brian
Link Posted: 8/5/2012 6:43:35 AM EDT
[#2]
I would let someone else try first just incase somethign was throwing you off on that gun.

at 7 yards you should be able to clover leaf or better. 2 inches is terrible. and while I agree 22 ammo is not the most consistent, I use bulk pack all day and can do better that close.

if the second shooter has the same issue, I would be calling ruger to have them check out the gun.
Link Posted: 8/5/2012 9:44:48 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
I would let someone else try first just incase somethign was throwing you off on that gun.