Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/3/2008 2:51:37 PM EDT
The guide rod is fulling tightend down and the slide still seems to wobble left to right. Only wobbles when hammer is back. I'm new to 1911's is this normal? I dont remember this happening before my first shoot.

thanks,
Dave

Link Posted: 9/3/2008 2:56:03 PM EDT
[#1]
My colt xse does the same thing. I dont plan on doing anything unless I see that it is needed. I'm just going to keep on shooting until it stops.
Link Posted: 9/3/2008 3:01:59 PM EDT
[#2]
Just loose tolerances.

My Loaded slide has a bit of movement - but I'd rather that than too tight.

As long as the barrel is locking up decent - ignore it and shoot the heck out of it.

(It is possible to tighten the fit, but that would be up to you if you want a smith to do it.)
Link Posted: 9/3/2008 3:30:37 PM EDT
[#3]
the looser , the more reliable , the expensive semi-custom guns will also loosen up after several thousand rounds and a lot of carry.
Link Posted: 9/3/2008 3:34:52 PM EDT
[#4]
The slide to frame tightness is far less important then the BBL to slide lockup. The repeatability of the slide/BBL lockup determines it's accuracy to a great extent.

And yeah, everyone want the rails as tight as humanly possible when the truth is, 99.9% of then can't even shoot to the accuracy of the gun in the first place. [me included]
Link Posted: 9/3/2008 3:46:15 PM EDT
[#5]
A-men on all that brother, including my shooting also. At 25 yards my groups look like they were shot with a 12 gauge shotgun using buckshot !
Link Posted: 9/3/2008 4:00:06 PM EDT
[#6]
ive only put 100 rounds through it and it already feels a little wobblely
Link Posted: 9/3/2008 7:13:49 PM EDT
[#7]
My Colt Series 80 rattles like you wouldn't believe, but it always goes bang and will shoot inside 3" all day long with nothing more than a recrowned factory barrel and a match bushing.
Link Posted: 9/3/2008 7:41:48 PM EDT
[#8]