Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/26/2007 8:47:34 AM EDT
Got the gun home and feel like a retard for not noticing it was not made in IL, but says Imbel, Brazil instead.  This is my first 1911 so I'm a newb, and my buddy that was going to do the action work for me had never heard of the Brazil thing.  

I'm not disapointed really, just want some opinions if the origin makes any difference...

I searched FAQs here, but couldn't find anything.  

Link Posted: 11/26/2007 8:50:15 AM EDT
[#1]
I would not let your "buddy" touch your 1911.

SA has been using brazil for decades.

He may just screw up your 1911.
Link Posted: 11/26/2007 8:53:06 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 11/26/2007 9:08:55 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
Imbel makes the FAL too....

If your friend is that ignorant of SAs origins, I would hesitate to have him do work on it.

+1.  I've had more problems with my Les Baer than I have with my Springfield.  (1 vs 0)
Link Posted: 11/26/2007 9:42:51 AM EDT
[#4]
Friends don't let friends work on their 1911's.
Link Posted: 11/26/2007 9:48:09 AM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 11/26/2007 10:35:55 AM EDT
[#6]
My first and only 1911 at this time is a Springer Mil-Spec...made in Brazil.  I wouldn't hesitate to buy another.

Your friend knows not what he speaks of.

You're GTG.
Link Posted: 11/26/2007 11:16:13 AM EDT
[#7]
I love this site.
Where did I say my buddy thought it was a negative?  His identical 1911 says IL, so rightly we were confused...

Thanks for the opinions.

Link Posted: 11/26/2007 11:40:04 AM EDT
[#8]
Not EVERY Springfield is made in Brazil.  They have some frames made in the US, but most of them are made, assembled, and shipped to the US where Springfield distributes them.

Your buddies pistol is either a US made frame, or the frame was made as an 80% frame and the rails cut at the facility and built by the Custom Shop or other part of the facility.