Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/26/2014 4:13:32 PM EDT
Had some time the other day to tear down my problematic Colt Series 80 Combat Commander. It has feedway stoppages on a regular basis with ball ammo and a variety of magazines. Nature of the jam is consistent with illustrations of the "3 point jam" or "stem bind."

First thing I noticed was that the only point of contact visible on the barrel feet was towards the bottom. I didn't think to get a photo, but the pic I found online below is similar, but the contact is on both feet. Likewise the slide stop pin shows no sign of contact with the barrel other than at the point that it's fully in battery. In other words, the barrel is riding the link, and in a pretty extreme fashion at that.

It seems the easiest solution here would be to install a shorter barrel link, but that's something I've never done before. Do I run the risk of compromising upper lug lockup with a shorter link?

Any advice is appreciated.

Link Posted: 9/26/2014 4:40:48 PM EDT
[#1]
Weld up and re cut foot.
Link Posted: 9/26/2014 7:13:03 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Weld up and re cut foot.
View Quote

I don't have any welding gear. I'm guessing that ain't cheap from a smith.
Link Posted: 9/26/2014 9:11:15 PM EDT
[#3]
You could try a slide stop with a larger pin.  I'm not sure about Colt, but some factory slide stop pins are less than .200".  You can order slide stops with pins that are a true .200" and EGW sells one with a .203" pin.  You may or may not have to ream the hole in the frame and/or link.  Might also need to change link to a different length.
Link Posted: 9/26/2014 9:19:28 PM EDT
[#4]