Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/28/2011 7:22:38 PM EDT

If anything? I'm a noob to the 1911 platform. I had a Colt Combat Elite (80's model), that I recently traded for a Galil parts kit and CNC Warrior receiver (I build AK's).

Now I'd like to pick up a decent 1911 that shoots good, is 100% reliable like my Colt was, and has rails.

As for railed guns, the RIA, Taurus, and Sigs are by far the cheapest. I'd consider something nicer like the Springfields or Kimber, but are they worth the extra $400-$600?

Why are the Taurus guns so cheap, and why do they have such a bad reputation? I know RIA is foreign, but they come with a lot of parts for the $ it seems like. Same with  the Sig.

Someone needs to straighten me out!

ETA: if this has been covered recently in-depth, feel free to just post the link!

Link Posted: 9/28/2011 7:29:40 PM EDT
[#1]
Taurus guns are mainly MIM parts and mine while tight when new got loose real fast. The RIA guns are good, but ave had some issues. Of the three I'd go for a Sig.
Link Posted: 9/28/2011 7:40:41 PM EDT
[#2]
"Cheap" ??  

Look to bid for a "cheap" Taurus 1911 on GB and watch and see how fast you get outbid at the end.

No, not Colt money, but more than RIA bucks. Maybe the GB bidders don't read message boards.
Link Posted: 9/29/2011 4:27:30 AM EDT
[#3]
I found myself wondering the same, I went with Sig after a little research and the gun works great.  It eats any ammo and I havent had any FTF/FTE.  This might help out a little: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5xTkOztsBs