Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/7/2006 3:13:46 PM EDT
I'm an Iowa resident currently displaced in NE (Offutt AFB).  I'm getting my Iowa CCW, and am looking for a .40 for that purpose (obviously not carrying daily, but shooting regularly and carrying anytime i'm in iowa or any other state that honors the permit).

KY Imports has the USP .40 Compact with night sights for $489 (used, VG Cond.).  I know a few guys who've ordered and their pistols are in fantastic shape.

CDNN has the Sig p229's for $389 with night sights.  I also know several who've ordered from here and had excellent results.

The XD can be had for around $450 from my FFL (on-base rod and gun club).

As I've said, i've fired all three--actually numerous pistols in .40, but these are my three to which i've narrowed down.  I'd be happy with all three, but hey--let's let the arfcom feeding frenzy begin.

Please, no hardcore bashing just because it's one brand or the other.  Let's keep it to as much real-world, personal experience as possible.  No tactikull stuff necessary.  It will probably double as my bedside shooter, but other than that and CCW it'll be with me every time i go to the range.

Discuss.  And be nice.  

PS--no "get all three!" either; i'm still junior enlisted and i'm lucky my wife's letting me get ONE.    I'd probably have to build her yet ANOTHER purple AK before she'd let me get more than one.
Link Posted: 3/7/2006 3:31:28 PM EDT
[#1]
I like my XD. No experience with Sig or Hk so I can't speak for them. But those are good prices for fairly expensive guns.
Link Posted: 3/7/2006 3:50:33 PM EDT
[#2]
Get the HK or the Sig.
Link Posted: 3/7/2006 3:58:32 PM EDT
[#3]
H&K's are nice. I really enjoyed my USP Compact 9mm and carried it for a month or two. However i switched over to an XD sub compact. The XD line is a really good fit for my hand, so personally i'd go with the XD.
Link Posted: 3/7/2006 4:49:54 PM EDT
[#4]