Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/9/2004 7:28:13 PM EDT
notice anything missing in the picture?

that's right, no 1911. I plan on getting a nice 1911 pretty soon. I'm not an expert on 1911's so I need a little help picking one out. I don't plan on shooting matches or anything so adjustable sights really aren't necessary, although night sights would be nice. I don't neccessarily wan't anything "too cheap" either. But on the other hand I don't want anything to expensive. Can yall give me some help/recommendations please?
Link Posted: 9/9/2004 7:40:07 PM EDT
[#1]
Kimber, fullsize, series I, internal extractor.
Link Posted: 9/9/2004 7:41:14 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 9/9/2004 7:47:06 PM EDT
[#3]
How much are you willing to pay?

Link Posted: 9/9/2004 7:47:59 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=7&f=88&t=203426

That's a nice gun, but the thing is I have to sell my truck before I buy anything first.
Link Posted: 9/9/2004 7:51:30 PM EDT
[#5]
Kimber is most likely the best for the money.  Series one will give you a better trigger pull.  As for the external extractor, I have one with and one without.  I would perfer an internal, but have no problems with the external.  Kimber is the only 1911 with an external extractor that I would consider.  
Link Posted: 9/9/2004 7:55:24 PM EDT
[#6]

Quoted:

under 1k at least

thanks for everyone's recommendations so far.

now I have another Q, whats the difference between the internal and external extractor? I know what the extractor is I just don't know the difference.
Link Posted: 9/9/2004 8:05:25 PM EDT
[#7]
The internal extrractor is the original design of the 1911, and is a piece of tensioned spring steel mounted internally to the slide.  The tension provides teh spring force necessary to grip the cartridge as well as teh flexibility to slide over the case rim if necessary.