Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/14/2005 10:06:19 AM EDT
I have a HP that is over 30 years old but is as cherry as the day it came out of the box.  I inquired here about its use for concealed carry on this post.

www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=5&f=39&t=19971

I got positive response for its use as a CCW.

Because of its age, it has the old fashion stock (and small) safety catch.  I think if am going to carry this concealed locked and cocked the higher profile catch would be better.

So, my questions are:  where do I get one?  Is it easy to change?  Should I do this at all?

As far as changing it, I have limited gunsmithing experience.  I have assembled a AR15 lower, but that is my resume, would I be better off with a gunsmith? Is the stock catch better for my use?

THANKS
Link Posted: 9/14/2005 8:19:37 PM EDT
[#1]
I bought a reprint of the British Armys P35 manual at a gunshow.  It gives detailed dis/re assembly info.  Several firms make components for the P35.  Most after market parts are over sized in some areas & require minor fitting.   The small factory safety is one bad point on an otherwise fine pistol.   You might find a drop in safety.  If so its an easy swap.  
Link Posted: 9/17/2005 2:19:42 AM EDT
[#2]
I would recommend to go with a competent gunsmith.  Hi Power safeties seem to be tricky to fit and are a little on the "spongy" side anyways compared to say a well fit, crisp 1911 safety.  I had a Cylinder and Slide safety put onto my FN years ago by a third party local gunsmith, and it was not done well.  While better than the original safety, it is not how I would prefer it.
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!