Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/10/2011 4:31:57 PM EDT
I want a carry gun and am looking at the Model 60 with 2 1/8 barrel in .357.  I'll be shooting mainly .38 +P.  Does anyone have any experience with this revolver?  Lets hear the good, the bad and the ugly.
Link Posted: 11/10/2011 4:48:09 PM EDT
[#1]
I have been carrying one for ten years in a CHEAP Uncle Mikes holster. IWB forward of my right hip. I have tried to replace it three times and always go back to it. It is accurate at the range you will most likely use it and it is stainless.
Link Posted: 11/10/2011 5:08:14 PM EDT
[#2]
I carry one quite a bit in my front pocket in a cheap holster. I have shot standard 38,+p and Magnums, reloads and new through it. I didn't buy the magnum to carry 38's so I carry 125 magnums. Recoil is brisk but not unmanageable with the 125's 158's sting. I did put Taurus grips on mine as they are small enough to conceal but offer a good grip that covers the back strap.Be aware as I have read and my Chonograph confirms that .357 magnum out of a short barrel is about the same as a good 9mm. The noise and fireball are much more impressive though.
Link Posted: 11/10/2011 5:40:56 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 11/10/2011 11:51:39 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 11/11/2011 4:38:15 AM EDT
[#5]
If you plan on shooting 38+p then forgo the extra cost, weight, and leanth of the 357 gun and get a model later than the -7 the 60-7'd cylinder was heat treated making it safe for 38+p so is any model made after 96 when the -7 was introduced.

model 60s are great guns and have an added benefit.  The short barrel gives little purchase if a grab should occur Ayoob has found the small J frames are the hardest to lose should a crook attempt to grab the gun.
Link Posted: 11/11/2011 5:09:04 AM EDT
[#6]
I just booght a 642 for carry, but plan to but the 3" model 60 next for the house and range.
Link Posted: 11/13/2011 3:45:30 PM EDT
[#7]