Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/3/2004 8:27:21 PM EDT
This is my first time posting here, but I've been a member for a while. Generally I can get the hang of mechanics pretty well, but my Series 80 has got me frustrated.

How do I remove the Hammer strut pin (#20) ?

I recently got some Wilson Combat parts to modify my pistol with. I've popped pin after pin out of this gun, but I can't get the hammer strut pin (#20) free. This is critical because I'm going to replace both the hammer (#18) and the beavertail safety (#22), and I want to use the stock hammer strut (#19) and hammer strut pin (#20). So, I need to just pop out this pin, switch hammers, and pop the pin back in.

Is there a secret to this? I've tried to use a small punch to pop it out, just like I did with the other pins, but it didn't budge.

http://helix.gatech.edu/Classes/ME4192/1998Q3/webs/Bulletproof2/gun1911part.gif

(Hammer strut pin is part #20 in the diagram)

If anyone could help me out, it would be greatly appreaciated.

Teflon_Tip
Link Posted: 8/4/2004 12:57:14 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 8/4/2004 8:33:16 AM EDT
[#2]
Is the back strap off?  #'s 16 and 17.  There is pressure against the hammer strut if the back strap is still in place.
Link Posted: 8/4/2004 1:49:03 PM EDT
[#3]
Anothergene- Thanks for the idea about something solid with a hole. I had been using a folded up bath towel, worked like a charm on the other pins, and had some give to it. I don't have my new beavertail safety yet, so I'm gonna wait till my dealer gets that before I take my baby back apart, but then I'll give that a try. If not, a couple of 1911 buffs work with my dealer, I'll take the part strait to them.