Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/21/2005 10:15:48 PM EDT
I am thinking about putting an OD Green Duracoat on my Glock 22C but I was hoping to get some feed back from some people who have used Duracoat previously.  Is it difficult to apply properly?  How resilient is it to holster wear?  Were you satisfied with the end results?  
Link Posted: 7/23/2005 7:00:41 AM EDT
[#1]
I was sure someone would reply to this by now.  Anyway, I have a Colt Combat Commander that I plan to DuraCoat soon.  I had applied KG GunKote to it before, as well as Brownell's baking laquer.  Both were from spray cans.  The KG flaked off with my thumbnail, while the Brownell's was a lot more durable.  I prepped both very well, bead blasting the parts, then thoroughly degreasing them by soaking for several days, scrubbing, soaking, and finally spraying them down.  I also pre-heated my parts, and sprayed in several uniform, thin coatings.  In other words, I did everything possible to make them work.

What I've noticed is that stuff from spray cans sprays out in a much larger mist than an airbrush.  Since I have an airbrush and airbrush compressor, I'm going to try the DuraCoat as soon as I'm done cutting up my Commander.  I'm going to mill the slide today for forward cocking serrations and a French cut.  When that's done, I'll try and spray it today.  Anyway, I'll post my results.  I plan to do normal shooting with it when done, and I'll let you know how durable it is after that happens.

Most guys I speak to are very happy with DuraCoat and also Norell's Moly Resin.  If I remember correctly, Para Ordnance uses Lauer for their slides, and they hold up very well.
Link Posted: 7/23/2005 11:14:56 PM EDT
[#2]
Just got done shooting a Browning Challenger II a few weeks back, and it turned out tits (was home on holiday for a while and went on a spraying craze coating everything that wasn't nail down).