Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/2/2003 5:16:27 PM EDT
I have a mod. 66-2 revolver and I would like to know how to tell what letter frame It has? Sorry If there is a simple answere to my ? but I'm new to the whole revolver scene.
Thanks
Link Posted: 8/2/2003 5:24:18 PM EDT
[#1]
You have a K-frame. The models 64-68 are all K-frames, IIRC.

The little baby snubbies are J-frames.

The midsized models 581/586/681/686 are L-frames.

The 44mag & other models such as 27/28 are the largest as N-frames.

A wonderful source for all sorts of gun info is "The Blue Book of Gun Values" by S.P. Fjestad. There's no pics but a wealth of info such as dates of mfgr, value, calibers made, etc.

If you want pics then there's such books as "The Shooters Bible" & the like. They're large soft cover editions costing around $20 or so.

It's a fun time to carry around a Blue Book at a gun show & see the look on some dealers face as you're looking at their used gun prices.  
Link Posted: 8/2/2003 8:27:03 PM EDT
[#2]
Thanks Bob, I checked a few sites and they told me that it was a K/L but my revolver has a J stamped under the grip so I figured that I would ask before I ordered A grip for it.

Now does anyone know of a good fingergrooved rubber grip for a K framed Smith?
Link Posted: 8/3/2003 9:00:45 AM EDT
[#3]
Is your model a 5 or a 6 shot revolver? If it's a 5 shot, then it is indeed a J-frame.

As for grips, I suggest you visit a gun show so you can see the variety of options. My personal suggestion is rosewood fingergroove grips. Rubber grips will snag on clothing if you use it for carry.

Link Posted: 8/3/2003 3:43:33 PM EDT
[#4]
My revolver is a 6 shot.  Does the letter stamping mean thats what frame It is?