Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/10/2005 10:23:13 AM EDT
How well does the 229 conceal and carry? What are some good holsters for it? It seems kind of thick and heavy to me, I was wondering how practical it is for CCW now that winter is here and I can switch from pocket carry to IWB.
Link Posted: 12/10/2005 8:08:57 PM EDT
[#1]
I do. I think it carrys extreemly well for it's weight. I'm 6 foot and 180 lbs and I carry it year round with no problems. I carry it in an Uncle Mikes kydex paddle holster, they cost about $14-17 are extreemly comfortable and very durrable. The best holster for the $$ no doubt!!
Link Posted: 12/11/2005 2:26:53 AM EDT
[#2]
i carry my 228 during winter and it is the same size as the 229. i carry it in a ctac IWB holster, very comfortable.
Link Posted: 12/11/2005 6:20:15 AM EDT
[#3]

I've been CCWing a 229 for about 7 years.  Used to mostly use it as a winter carry piece only since I didn't have a decent IWB holster for it.  When I did carry it, it was in a Blade-tech OWB holster under a flannel shirt.  Concealed that way just fine.

Now that I live in a climate where it's warm year round, I've been carrying it just fine IWB under just a light shirt using a Milt Sparks Versa Max 2.  The VM2 has worked so well I've switched to it for my other carry pieces as well.  I'm using a Wilderness Instructor's Belt as well.

So, in short, yes the 229 does conceal and carry very well.  And I'd definitely recommend the VM2 holster for it was well as a deceent belt.
Link Posted: 12/11/2005 2:48:29 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 12/12/2005 10:15:45 AM EDT
[#5]
I usually carry a 239, but occasionally carry a 229. For IWB, I find the Milt Sparks VM2 is very comfortable.
Link Posted: 12/17/2005 8:50:40 AM EDT
[#6]
Every day with a Kramer #3 IWB or Galco Sky ops when wearing a shirt and tie.  
Link Posted: 12/18/2005 6:24:31 AM EDT
[#7]