Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/8/2002 5:49:05 AM EDT
I finally fled Maryland after 11 years and escaped to Pennsylvania.  2 weeks & $19 later, I have a CCW.  Now as a good little plebe in Maryland, a knife was all we could pack, so I'm new at this game.

I am committed to carrying as much as I can, as a civic duty as well as protecting my family.  I say as much as I can since I travel to maryland and secure facilities quite a bit, and a CCW would be a no-go on those days.

I'm a pretty big guy, 6'4", about 280 lbs, round stomach, but not flowing of the pants.  Summertime, I like shorts & a t-shirt.

I already owned a full sized Kimber custom classic stainless 1911, a Glock 17, a Kahr micro K9 and the wife's Beretta Tomcat .32 acp.  I decided I wanted to carry something better than a 9mm, but that my full sized 1911 was probably a bit much.

So, at a  recent gunshow I picked up a Kimber Pro CDP II, full sized grip, 4" barrel.  Based on the recommendations at the show, I got a Mitch Rosen Workman Express IWB holster, and the extra angled clip for it.

I've suited up with this rig a couple times, and it's a little uncomfortable.  For starters, using an "appendix (front)" carry, you end up with a cocked-n-locked 1911 pointed at the family jewels, and you need to keep moving it around for comfort as you change positions.

I've heard enough bad things about kidney (rear) carry, plus the gun seems to really print through a t-shirt doing that.

I'm finding myself NOT carrying (the last few days) due to the discomfort, etc.....   Excuses.   So, what advise can you folks provide to help me live with carrying on a daily basis?

Thanks.
Link Posted: 7/8/2002 11:19:01 AM EDT
[#1]
I would carry the Khar micro 9 using an IWB=inside the waistband holster since you already own the gun and it is a fine one indeed.