Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/21/2015 5:21:10 PM EDT
I'm in the process of selecting a CCW handgun and was hoping to get some advice/opinions on my choices.

I'm a pretty small framed guy (5'6", 130 Lbs, 28" waist, athletic build) and so that limits my options a bit.  I'm probably not going to be able to comfortably carry what some of you can.  Also, I'm new to CCW so I'm still learning.  I'm not new to handguns, but I'm new to CCW.

I've already got a Glock 19 that I love, and I can probably pull that off in the winter, but even with winter clothes thats probably going to be difficult for me to carry comfortably.  Its still just a smidge too big.

These are the selections I'm looking at so far:

Glock 26
M&P Shield
Glock 42
Walther PPS

I'm strongly considering picking up the G26 in addition to one of the other 3 choices and using the G26 when the weather and my state of dress will allow me to carry it, and the single-stack the rest of the time.

I was just wondering what your advice/opinions/suggestions were on the above choices, especially as I'm new to this.

Also, as I know there are some that will recommend the Glock 43.  I did rent one, shot it, and I just can't seem to shoot it well.  It doesn't like me.  I shot the Glock 42 fine...the Glock 26 fine....but the 43 just doesn't like me.  It felt 'snappy', but not that much worse than any of these other small guns.  I'm not sure what it was but I was pretty horrible with it.  I thought maybe it was the stock sights (as I'm used to Trijicon HD's on my glocks) but then when I shot the Glock 42 with the same stock sights I shot it fine.

Thanks!

Link Posted: 10/21/2015 5:23:48 PM EDT
[#1]
I am 6'1" 150 30" waist myself.
All the options you listed are great options I myself carry a PPS and G19 depending on attire.  Both are carried in a Comp-tac m-tac holster and Ares Aegis belt.