Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Romanian
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 4/3/2006 7:13:25 PM EDT
OK guys,

Just picked up my first AK at the gun show this weekend.  Gotta say I love it, even though liberals all over the country are perishing just from looking at the gun.  

Being an AK Noob, I had a question about the FSB.  On mine, there is a flip up iron that obscures the post.  It has a small indent.  Is this intended to be a night sight with some type of tritium paint applied in the indentation??

Any info you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

BTW, I bought it on Saturday and we went out on Sunday to break it in.  Pics here starting bottom p.6
WARNING 56k = DEATH

www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=8&f=10&t=227029
Link Posted: 4/3/2006 8:23:14 PM EDT
[#1]
From the other thread:

That's a Yugoslavian rifle, sir, not a Romanian WASR.  The flip-up sights are the grenade launger sights. (Not sure if they're supposed to have tritium or not.)
Link Posted: 4/4/2006 10:41:43 AM EDT
[#2]
There should be night sights on the front and rear sites.  They flip up.  They have just a little white dot that glows.  The large sight is a gas cutoff and launcher sights.
Link Posted: 4/4/2006 2:33:11 PM EDT
[#3]
Thanks guys.  I thought that the sight on the gas block was the grenade site.  And was pretty sure that the flip up was a night sight, but it didn't have any paint on the dot so I wasn't sure.  Anyway, here is a close up of what I was talking about.

1/2 way up.

fully deployed

Thanks again.
Link Posted: 4/5/2006 12:48:40 AM EDT
[#4]
yeah your missing the paint,...i forgot who sells it but they make a glow in the dark paint.

looks like ya'll had a good time down there if FLA. gives me a few ideas on a upcomming shoot with some of the hometown boys up here
Link Posted: 4/5/2006 11:07:57 AM EDT
[#5]
Nice score. That's much nicer than a WASR. Excellent buy!

Page AK-47 » Romanian
AK Sponsor: palmetto