Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 10/7/2005 6:52:05 AM EDT
I've bought my first AR about 3 months ago.  Now I'm in the running for an AK.  I'm a college student on a college budget.  What's a decent (read: good budget) gun?  I'm looking to spend at most $400.  There's a gun shop in town I was going to go look at for some ideas.  Dunham's has a Romanian but I've heard they're the bottom of the list, and they won't sell to out of staters anyways.  I know the store has a few but what should I look for in them?  I want one with the pistol grip not the buttstock with the thumb hole.  Other than that, anything that slings some lead down range.

Thanks guys.
Link Posted: 10/7/2005 7:05:29 AM EDT
[#1]
with only 400 to spend you may only be able to find a Romanian.  they're not all that bad.  
Link Posted: 10/7/2005 7:17:51 AM EDT
[#2]
start looking in pawn shops, I find tons of them there. to bad they are not to my liking, or else I would buy a few. I have seen them in there as little as $190.
Link Posted: 10/7/2005 7:31:08 AM EDT
[#3]
Your best bet may be to buy a chinese gun with the ugly thumbhole stock for now. Then, when you have some extra cash, convert it to standard stock configuration. Or else for under $400 you may end up with a Romanian. I would take a Chinese with the thumbhole over a Romanian with pistol grip any day. Good luck.
Link Posted: 10/7/2005 7:50:07 AM EDT
[#4]
IMO your best option is to wait for the Russian Saigas to be imported again, they should be pretty soon. They will run between $250 - $300, and require about $75 worth of parts and some easy modifications make them pistol gripped and able to use standard AK mags. IMO best quality AK you can get.
Link Posted: 10/7/2005 9:14:01 AM EDT
[#5]

to wait for the Russian Saigas to be imported