Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 9/8/2005 9:04:05 AM EDT
I recently purchased a wsar 10 at a gun show it shoots fine with the supplied 20 round magazines, but when I attempt to place a 30 round mag it will not rock in place unless the bolt is pulled back and then when the bolt is released it cahes the mag. Has anyone had this problem before. I am fairly new to ak's being a ar guy Im also new to this site so i hope i posted this correctly thanks for the help
Link Posted: 9/8/2005 12:59:39 PM EDT
[#1]
How many 30 rd mags (different ones) have you tried?
Link Posted: 9/8/2005 1:12:21 PM EDT
[#2]
2 romanian 30 rd mags and one 10 round mag with the same result. The 20 rd mags lock in vary tight but work.
Link Posted: 9/8/2005 1:19:11 PM EDT
[#3]
I would also like to say that the 30 round mags work in my fathers sar 1 and a friends wsar 10 just not in my wsar 1
Link Posted: 9/8/2005 1:40:36 PM EDT
[#4]
Thinking about the mag problem i removed the receiver cover and cycled the action the magazine is being cought on the bolt carrier on the side as it comes foward stoping all movement. Could this mean that the receiver is incorrect or mabe the bolt carrier thanks
Link Posted: 9/8/2005 2:00:51 PM EDT
[#5]
That gun was modified from lo-cap to hi-cap magazines. They enlarged the magazine well on the receiver.
The distance between your magazine catch and the bottom of the receiver is not right. (Most likely)
They could have drilled the trunion too deep if they modified that.
The mag catch can be reduced some by filing on the part that catches.
If the mag opening of the trunion is overdrilled then you have a much more serious issue. The only repair I can think of there is welding on it to build it up and then redrill (dremel)
Does the mag fit extremely tight?
Link Posted: 9/8/2005 2:05:36 PM EDT
[#6]
yes they fit in very tight.
Link Posted: 9/8/2005 2:22:03 PM EDT
[#7]