BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Build It Yourself
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 1/16/2006 4:12:00 AM EDT
I just finished my FEG SA-85

Passed the range test with flying colors, plus it shoots nice

This is a group with my last 3 builds

This is my first build, an Romanian AKM. I did it in the dark as a learning experance. This one has problems and is going to be rebuilt from the ground up now that I know what I'm doing.

This is my second build, an RPK. I was able to do a much better job on it after the Romanian.
Is a real nice shooter.

Link Posted: 1/16/2006 9:55:50 AM EDT
[#1]
On the RPK, did you grind down the trunnion to get it to be flat-sided or did it come that way?  I just ordered a kit and it has the bulges.  I thought they all did.  What nationality was the kit you used?  Just curious; don't know that much about RPKs.

Thanks
Link Posted: 1/16/2006 4:59:13 PM EDT
[#2]

It's a Romanian RPK kit.

I had a buddy mill the humps off the trunion.

Link Posted: 1/16/2006 6:03:45 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 1/16/2006 8:38:04 PM EDT
[#4]
Nice builds, I'm digging the AMD63, I missed out on those. Good job. McM
Link Posted: 1/16/2006 8:56:49 PM EDT
[#5]
You're providing me with some inspiration Kryten.     Thanks for sharing the pix.
Link Posted: 1/16/2006 9:10:32 PM EDT
[#6]
Nice builds! Keep up the good work.
Link Posted: 1/17/2006 3:09:56 AM EDT
[#7]
great looking builds, job well done congrats
Link Posted: 1/17/2006 3:27:22 AM EDT
[#8]

Thanks to everyone for the compliments.

I've always been a tinkerer, and with my love of guns, building these and AR-15's seemed a natural.

I've still have 4 or 5 more to go, including a mint unissed Yugo RPK.

I'm saving it for last.

Link Posted: 1/17/2006 4:40:13 AM EDT
[#9]

Quoted:
Thanks to everyone for the compliments.

I've always been a tinkerer, and with my love of guns, building these and AR-15's seemed a natural.

I've still have 4 or 5 more to go, including a mint unissed Yugo RPK.

I'm saving it for last.