Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Build It Yourself
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 8/7/2005 6:55:12 AM EDT
Here's the thing, I have never built a gun before in my life. Also, I don't have alot of tools (a few screwdrivers, a pair of plier, some allen wrenches and a hammer). I don't want this to turn into a project that sits in the closet half completed. Is building an AK something that is difficult to do? Do you need alot of tools to do it?
Link Posted: 8/7/2005 8:08:51 AM EDT
[#1]
No, just the name of a good builder.

By the time you bought all the tools needed to build one gun, you will have paid much more than a builder would charge to do it for you.

I think the price break starts about the third weapon you build and that's only for the basic tools.  I think I have as much on tooling now than I have in kits. (must buy more tools - never have too many tools)
Link Posted: 8/7/2005 9:20:24 AM EDT
[#2]
If you are only thinking about building one, I would say, go buy a finished rifle.

"Is building an AK something that is difficult to do?"
Like most things, not difficult if you know how. You can learn to do it with enough research.

"Do you need alot of tools to do it?"
More than what you have now. It just wouldn't be cost effective to buy the tools you need for one build.

Buy one from a good reputable dealer and you'll be happier in the long run.

Link Posted: 8/7/2005 12:43:01 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
If you are only thinking about building one, I would say, go buy a finished rifle.

"Is building an AK something that is difficult to do?"
Like most things, not difficult if you know how. You can learn to do it with enough research.

"Do you need alot of tools to do it?"
More than what you have now. It just wouldn't be cost effective to buy the tools you need for one build.

Buy one from a good reputable dealer and you'll be happier in the long run.