Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/6/2004 6:14:33 AM EDT
I have a bushmaster varminter.  Awesome gun I must say.  Anyway.  I clean that barrel with Hoppes 9 and when finished run patches through until I see no coloration on the patch.  When I look down the barrel I can still see some copper coloring in the Rifeling.  Any suggestions?  Also.  Just curious which parts of the gun you lubricate.
Thanks Guys.
Link Posted: 10/6/2004 8:10:10 AM EDT
[#1]
lube as you would any Ar type rifle. hoppes needs a day or more to remove copper.
Link Posted: 10/6/2004 8:11:25 AM EDT
[#2]
There's a special copper solvent out, can't think of the name but it works great.
Link Posted: 10/6/2004 8:30:05 AM EDT
[#3]
I don't really like Hoppes as it just takes too long to clean. I use Butches Bore Shine and it is just as safe as Hoppes but does 1000X better cleaning copper!
Link Posted: 10/6/2004 8:35:54 AM EDT
[#4]
Sweets 7.62   It cuts the copper great

after cleaning with shooters choice I use Sweets Run a wet patch wait 5 then do another
You will never see a more neon blue as the copper comes out.
repeat process until no blue comes out and your done.

don't forget to lube the bore
Link Posted: 10/6/2004 9:55:08 AM EDT
[#5]
what about outers bore foam?

has anyone used that? i looked at it the other night when i was at walmart at it seems intriging, no amonia, turns blue when disolving copper.

does it work ?
Link Posted: 10/6/2004 9:57:23 AM EDT
[#6]
Thank You For The Replies.  I'll look into sweets and butches bore shine.  Thanks again.
Link Posted: 10/6/2004 10:52:04 AM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:

has anyone used that? i looked at it the other night when i was at walmart at it seems intriging, no amonia, turns blue when disolving copper.

does it work ?