Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/5/2003 1:56:24 PM EDT
I have a year old Bushmaster with a muzzle break on it.  I was wondering if it is possible to remove it.  It has two flat spots on it to use a wrench on.  Will the muzzle break just screw off or is it permanantly attatched?
Link Posted: 1/6/2003 3:41:27 AM EDT
[#1]
Suspect if it is only a year old your MB is "pinned-on" and if ya try to remove it w/ a wrench you'll ruin it. Suggest ya have a gunsmith examine it or check w/ Kurt's Kustom on-site here in Industry Forums and let him know what type of brake it has and he can help tell ya how to remove it properly.

Mike
Link Posted: 1/6/2003 7:37:50 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
I have a year old Bushmaster with a muzzle break on it.  I was wondering if it is possible to remove it.  It has two flat spots on it to use a wrench on.  Will the muzzle break just screw off or is it permanantly attatched?
View Quote

Just curious as to why you want to take it off? I was thinking about putting one on mine, but perhaps there's some reason I shouldn't be?

Thanks-- RUT
Link Posted: 1/6/2003 7:43:48 AM EDT
[#3]
I use to have a Bushy Shorty w/ an AK muzzle break.  It was loud and everyone on the right an left of me complained about the noise and the blast.  

I now have a Bushy V-Match, mainly for the free floating barrel, no muzzle break.  I personally don't notice any difference in recoil.  Not much recoil from an AR to beging with.

But.........some people like a muzzle break because it looks "cool" and maybe they can tell it has less recoil.  If that's the case, go for it!

Rambosky
Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!