Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/5/2006 7:26:58 PM EDT
Hi guys, any help will be greatly appreciated. I have a 16" A2 Bushmaster that I recently decided to replace the upper on with a flattop. i ordered a DPMS upper from the great guys at Del-Ton(super friendly). I used the bolt and carrier from my Bushmaster upper in the new one.

My problem is with the gun cycling the rounds, it will shoot a round and eject it fine but it won't chamber another one. If I do it manually with the charging handle it will eject and chamber fine, it's just when I'm shooting it that it malfunctions. I am newbie at working on AR's, is this a easily remedied problem or something I need to let a gunsmith look at? I thought maybe the bolt wasn't coming back far enough but I wasn't having any problem with my other upper.
I also mounted a Surefire M97 light on the bottom of the gas block, is it ok to leave it there or does it need to be mounted to the forearm? Thanks for any information you can give.

Jamie

Link Posted: 3/5/2006 9:20:28 PM EDT
[#1]
Make sure it's not "short stroking"

ie--insufficient gas delivery to bolt carrier.

Do the following procedure and report results.

---TEST FIRING PROCEDURE---
-Unload the rifle and verify that it is clear.
-Check the bore for obstructions.
-Load the rifle with one round from the magazine. Use quality ammunition and a proven magazine for this.
-Aim downrange and fire, the bolt should catch on the bolt stop. Hold the rifle as loose as possible.
-Reload and repeat the process if the rifle does not lock open Depress the bottom of the bolt stop before firing this time. This allows for weak magazine springs, sticky followers, or an overly strong bolt catch spring.
-If the bolt does not lock open then there is a gas system problem. Investigate and repair the problem.