Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 5/12/2005 7:03:55 PM EDT
Hello. all.

I'm new to the ar15 so I'm not sure if this is a big deal or what.  Today (and one other occasion) my rifle had two rounds shoot off for a single trigger pull(i think this is called a slam fire).  I'm not sure if more rounds would have fired since on both occasions they were the last two rounds in the mag.  In the past three times i went shooting, this happened twice.  However, it only happened once during the course of the day and didn't happen at all after(happened once on day 1 and once on day 3.  worked fine on day 2).  I bought the rifle used from a friend(less than 1000 rounds through it).  It is a Bushmaster Varmint Special.  I'm wondering if anyone can tell me what could be wrong or if i need to get new parts.  I try to clean the rifle as well as I can after every trip to the range and i dissassemble the bolt, firingpin etc, to get them clean also.  

I also have a slight problem with the two stage trigger.  it seems to be a little sticky.  After shooting a round, it will sometimes not reset all the way and will be stuck at the second stage.  even when the gun is unloaded and i try using a snap cap, the trigger will sometimes get stuck after the first stage and not return to its normal position.  I've tried to oil the trigger parts inside the lower but perhaps there are other things i should be doing?  Please remember that I am fairly new to the AR15 and I may not be all that familiar with everything.

so any input is welcome.  thanks in advance guys.
Link Posted: 5/12/2005 7:34:05 PM EDT
[#1]
Welcome to the forums and to the AR15 rifle community.