Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 3/8/2005 2:36:07 PM EDT
Im new to the AR more to malfunctions.. I drove all the way to the range Collin county for dfw folks first shot fired and then this happend..  What causes this? IS it very bad or pretty common thanks for your tips..

Link Posted: 3/8/2005 2:45:23 PM EDT
[#1]
Very bad......yes
Common.......no

What ammo were you using?  .223 or 5.56 Nato (headstamp looks like Q3131A)
What is chamber on the barrel? .223 or 5.56 Nato
Is the round forcibly stuck in the chamber?
Rifle Manufacturer?

Need to answer these questions.

Something deformed a portion of the rim.  Guess it could have been the extractor.

The specs of chamber and ammo are slighty different.  The Nato chamber is a bit larger to maximize reliability where as the .223 chamber is SAAMI specs gear as a sporting round.  The dimensions of the ammo are a bit different too.

If you have a tight .223 chamber and shoot 5.56 Nato spec ammo, I could definitely see this happening.

Link Posted: 3/8/2005 2:51:31 PM EDT
[#2]
Yes it is Q3131A The barrel says 5.56 nato and I have shot this ammo before..

I guess my next question is how bad is this is it ruined can I get this out myself.. Man im going to have a breakdown.. lol
Link Posted: 3/8/2005 2:56:18 PM EDT
[#3]
Well pull the damned round out..see if the brass is bulged or cracked inspect the chamber.
I had brass stick before once, ive also had a cut case once..but after many many rounds i havent seen it happen since.
Link Posted: 3/8/2005 2:59:52 PM EDT
[#4]
Just run a cleaning rod down the bore and pop it out.  
Link Posted: 3/8/2005 3:00:34 PM EDT
[#5]
cleaning rod down into the bottom of the case and tapping the rod to get it out

^ he beat me to it
Link Posted: 3/8/2005 3:54:16 PM EDT
[#6]