Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/26/2003 11:49:14 AM EDT
I've been shooting AR-15s and M-16s for over 15 years and just had a problem I had never seen or heard of.

I have an M-4 Copy that I built from a DPMS Lower and a J&T Upper Mock M4 Parts Kit.  The stock is a "pinned open" carbine stock.  Friday I was shooting and noticed the bolt wouldn't hold open and I couldn't pull it back.  After troubleshooting, I decided to pull out the Recoil Buffer and spring which turned out to be the problem.  The buffer (standard shorty buffer) had come apart in the stock.  This is not a new rifle (probably has 1500 rounds through it) and so I thought it might have just broken.  I put it back together and tried again.  This time it came apart within 3 rounds.  So I thought this thing is just broken.  Well I went and bought another buffer and replaced it.  And within 10 rounds the same thing happened.  I asked a few guys at the range and no one had ever heard of this before.

The only difference between this trip and the last was I was shooting some new ammo I reloaded.  So I thought maybe I loaded it "hot".  I put the buffer back together and filled up the mag with some Spanish surplus and after about 20 rounds the same thing happened.  BTW, based on recoil my reloads are definitely not hot, but probably light.  Could this cause the problem.

Thanks in Advance
Link Posted: 10/26/2003 3:12:07 PM EDT
[#1]
The buffer is an outer casing/housing, with tungsten weights in the housing (casing) to act like a dead blow hammer and the end urethane bumper held in with a roll pin.

At what location did the buffer break apart?

Is the end bumper being chewed up by something in the end of the receiver extension, and what type of buffer are you using.  Is it the BB type or tungsten weight type, the standard car buffer, or the plastic ended 9 SMG type.