Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/1/2003 4:08:21 AM EDT
Since I have owned it (about 9 months, and with all original parts), my DPMS Classic 20" A2 HBAR has thrown brass about 10 feet to about 4 o'clock. It makes no difference if I use Fed Am Eagle .223 or UMC .223 or Fed 5.56 XM-193.

In contrast, my son's Oly A2 20" HBAR throws brass more like a well-timed & well-lubed M-1 Garand ... about 3 feet to 2 o'clock.

Is there a "normal" ejection characteristic for an AR-15? If so, what is it, and if it's not what mine or his is doing, what might be the cause?
Link Posted: 8/1/2003 2:30:57 PM EDT
[#1]
Each barrel length and ammo has a different velocity and ejection pattern.

To answer your question I don't know. I have been shooting AR's for over 20 years, have 8 or more of them but never watched where the brass goes - as long as it goes out of the chamber making room for the next round it's good for me.

I pay more attention to where the lead goes than the brass.
Link Posted: 8/2/2003 12:07:45 AM EDT
[#2]
Around 4:00 is normal, IIRC (for normal rifles, 16-20"). The further forward it lauches brass, the more worn out the extractor and/or ejector springs are. I can't remember, though, but it's something along those lines. Perhaps someone else will nail it down.
Link Posted: 8/3/2003 9:31:25 AM EDT
[#3]
Go to [url]www.armalite.com[/url] and on the left, click the Tech Notes.  Read Tech Note 34.  Though it is mostly about the AR-10 it states "These ejection patterns are common to all AR-15/M16 pattern rifles."  This should give some inside into your observations.  
Link Posted: 8/3/2003 12:19:46 PM EDT
[#4]
Thanks, A_Free_Man, great info, just what I need to know.

Link Posted: 8/8/2003 10:30:19 AM EDT
[#5]