Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/26/2002 7:38:05 AM EDT
I have a complete Bushmaster Dissipator.  The bolt always strips the top round and feeds it into the chamber just fine.  But, sometimes the bolt will not seat and the FA does not help.  If I remove the magazine and recharge it will seat.

It seems like the bolt carrier is being pushed up by the next round and holding it out of alignment.

What is the solution?
Link Posted: 12/26/2002 8:00:11 AM EDT
[#1]
What ammo are you using? Reloads?
Link Posted: 12/26/2002 8:06:34 AM EDT
[#2]
No.

South African, Federal Lake City, Federal Ballistic Tip

different mags too
Link Posted: 12/26/2002 8:42:00 AM EDT
[#3]
Did you assemble the lower?
Link Posted: 12/26/2002 8:48:13 AM EDT
[#4]
Nope.  Bought it completely assembled.
Link Posted: 12/26/2002 12:16:10 PM EDT
[#5]
btt
Link Posted: 12/26/2002 1:17:51 PM EDT
[#6]
Do you have the same problem with different mags?  I had the same issue with new Thermolds. After sanding the flash from the top of the mag, they fed fine.  If it's all mags, whoops, you need someone more experienced than me.
Link Posted: 12/26/2002 10:03:33 PM EDT
[#7]
Try this:   Strip the mag out of the rifle, then check to make sure that the rifle is unloaded.

Pull back on the cocking handle, then slowly ride the handle forward.  Once the bolt has went as far as it can go with the handle, then use the FA to close the bolt the rest of the way.  If it will not close, the re-test, but this time hold the trigger down.

If it closes, then your problem may be with the hammer binding up on the firing pin.  We have been seeing a lot of problems to this effect.

Or, if all else fails, give Bushmaster a call and have them issue a call tag to send the rifle back to be fixed.

Dano
Link Posted: 12/27/2002 6:09:41 AM EDT
[#8]