Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/19/2009 9:07:58 PM EDT
Okay, I've got a bad case the Black Rifle Fever.  I’ve been lurking on this forum for about a month now, reading everything I can, and I think I’ve reached information overload.  So much so, I’m about to have a brain aneurism.  There seems to be a myriad of manufacturers with plenty of opinions on which components are best.

I'm on a budget and I'm not looking to build a 500 yard tack driver, just a plinking gun and I admit I like the look.  I intend on perforating a lot of paper plates and drop the occasional coon or possum that trespasses, so I don’t believe I need to drop $2k.  I have zero AR experience, I like the idea of building it myself, having the flexibility of the build process and learning about the firearm in the process.  Of course, all this as the budget allows, and I’ll pick up the pieces over the next few months.

I've got my eye on a Tactical Innovations T15 striped upper and lower for $189.99+10.50(S/H).  It has SS bushings and pivot pins.  Seems like a nice upgrade for the standard forged receiver, but are they really needed?  For the LPK, I think I’ll get one from Bill Springfield with the 4lb. trigger job for $119.  With an investment of $320, I believe this combo will give me a good foundation for my first build.  The remainder of the upper parts and furniture will come later.

If there’s a better option out there, or I’ve grossly miscalculated please let me know.  I would appreciate the feedback.
Link Posted: 9/19/2009 9:26:43 PM EDT
[#1]
I think you have already made the first investment by reading as much as you can. your lower plan sounds solid. please take in to considerations when asking things like "which is better" that everyone is going to have their own opinions.