Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 6/15/2009 12:16:43 PM EDT
Was out shooting this weekend at the range and noticed that upon ejection the brass/steel was landing 1 1/2 stations away and rolling under the chain link fence.  Probably about 15-18 feet.  Seemed like a long way to me, but I just started shooting AR's.  I was shooting Brown Bear 62 gr. HP.

I'm shooting the following:
Larue Stealth upper 18"
Young Mfg. NM Chrone M16 BCG - Has black o-ring and 5 turn spring.

So is this normal to have the brass/steel fly this far?
Link Posted: 6/15/2009 12:28:05 PM EDT
[#1]
My HK's sling it into another zip code.
Link Posted: 6/15/2009 1:17:16 PM EDT
[#2]
What buffer and buffer spring you using?

18' is a bit excessive, I'd say 6' to 12' is pretty normal. BSW

Link Posted: 6/15/2009 1:25:57 PM EDT
[#3]
Using the following - Mil Spec Carbine Receiver Tube, Spring, and H Buffer.  Normal stuff.
Link Posted: 6/16/2009 7:06:42 PM EDT
[#4]
Get one of these:

LINK
Link Posted: 6/16/2009 7:56:06 PM EDT
[#5]
My ar's arent too bad, they keep them in the same zip code.  

I do however have an Fal, that tries to achieve low earth orbit with each shot.
Link Posted: 6/16/2009 8:11:31 PM EDT
[#6]
My brass usually lands about 10 to 12 feet away, yours really flies out there.

It could be your 5 turn extractor spring, it might be an extra power spring, the most common use for them are on carbine gas systems.

I only use those 5 turn extra power extractor spring on my carbine gas system, on my rifle and midlength gas systems I use the standard 4 turn standard extractor springs and I also use O-rings.

Link Posted: 6/16/2009 8:33:23 PM EDT
[#7]
Quoted:

Link Posted: 6/17/2009 2:44:44 AM EDT
[#8]
Link Posted: 6/17/2009 3:22:41 AM EDT
[#9]
you can either trim off half or one turn coil of your ejector spring or trim the ejector itself.
Link Posted: 6/17/2009 5:56:39 AM EDT
[#10]