Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/6/2008 6:48:26 AM EDT
It's been quite a while since I have checked in and almost as long since I have built an AR but the bug is back and it has bit me hard!

I want to build a mid length 6.5 grendal with a gas piston operated upper.  Can anyone point me to a thread or tell me where I can get the parts to make this happen?

I have never built a gas piston upper so I am not sure what the differnces are, i.e. dont know what to buy that would be gas piston specific.  Combined with a caliber I have never built I am a little daunted before I get started.

Thanks for any and all help.

Link Posted: 10/6/2008 7:19:31 AM EDT
[#1]
Building a rifle in a caliber designed for long range accuracy, with a piston system that will undoubtedly degrade long range accuracy?
Link Posted: 10/6/2008 11:08:40 AM EDT
[#2]
I am not really in it for long range accuracy but I didn't realize that manipulating the force used to extract the empty cartridge affected the accuracy.   Can anyone tell me if I buy a Grendel bolt and barrel and bushmaster gas piston conversion kit will I have a functional weapon?
Link Posted: 10/6/2008 11:15:47 AM EDT
[#3]
When you have a mass (the piston/op rod/etc) moving parallel to the bore, it will affect accuracy in some (even if small) way. It sure made a huge difference with my lightweight AR.

I don't believe Bushmaster makes a midlength piston kit, they use the Ares carbine kit, it will probably function just fine, but I don't see the point.

You might consider reading my Ares gas piston review...

www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=118&t=380245
Link Posted: 10/10/2008 10:34:27 PM EDT
[#4]
AA makes a 14.5" M4 profiled barrel with an extended flash hider.  That barrel uses a carbine length gas tube.  You could install an Ares kit in that 6.5 upper.

Scott
Link Posted: 10/12/2008 7:10:10 PM EDT
[#5]