Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/12/2005 4:47:22 AM EDT
Hello,
This is my first post here about my first AR. I have a Bushmaster M-4 with an A-2 upper. I cheaped out and went for the A-2 but in hind sight, I shoulda got the A-3. So, my decision or thought is to swap the upper reciever out Using all my parts less the reciever itself. Are there any tricks I should be aware of? I have been told headspacing would not be an issue because the barrel and bolt are matched/spced from the factory. I was figuring on a bushmaster A-3 type upper.
If anyone could make suggestions/comments or tips I'd greatly appreciate it.
Thanks,
Justin
Link Posted: 10/12/2005 4:51:02 AM EDT
[#1]
Oh, and what is meant by M-4 feed ramps? Some manufacturers mention it, some don't
Link Posted: 10/12/2005 5:01:54 AM EDT
[#2]
bigbore's thread about feedramps

since you stated that you have a bushmaster upper then it shouldnt have extended feedramps cut into the actual reciever and only on the barrel extension itself.

bushmaster doenst use extended/m4 feedramps. or at least on their factory listed rifles

so when you go to buy an upper reciever make sure you get one with no feedramps or also considered a rifle reciever.

its pretty straight forward and there are tacked threads up top that will walk you through the re-barreling.

also something to add is that bushmaster doesnt make their own upper recievers along with most of the other companies out there and they are mostly sourced from the few.

with that in mind i would look for an upper elsewhere beside bushmaster themselves since the cost is much higher along with shipping. cmt makes a nice upper reciever and the forging marks on them match those of my bushmasters' so i think its safe to say they are of the like.

there is also rra and many others that are offered here and at a great price